Seismograf Peer

A peer-reviewed platform for contemporary music and sound art

Seismograf Peer is a peer-reviewed online platform devoted to practical and theoretical issues in relation to contemporary music, sound art and sound studies. Our formats of publications are audio papers and research article. 

Seismograf Peer covers a broad range of topics including sonic materialities, modes of listening, philosophy of sound and music, aesthetics, technology and audio visuality as well as performative, curatorial and archival matters related to the sonic arts.

Seismograf Peer encourages a wide spread of methodologies and theoretical discourses, ranging from the more established academic approaches such as sound studies, musicology, cultural studies and performance studies to artistic research, practice-based research, artist writing and media archaeology.

Seismograf Peer is hosted by Seismograf, a Danish magazine with a long and proud tradition of publishing essays, interviews and reviews by music journalists and critics as well as academics and composers, acting as an inspiring and important platform within the field. Seismograf Peer is a natural development of this tradition, acknowledging the demands of publication within universities, music academies and art schools.

Our platform appears in the Danish, the Norwegian, and the Finnish registers for scientific journals.

Seismograf is supported by the Danish Arts Council, Danish Composers’ Society and Nordic Culture Point.

The work published in Seismograf Peer is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.


General information

Articles and audio papers published within the framework of Seismograf Peer will undergo rigorous peer review, based on initial screening by editors and anonymised refereeing by at least two anonymous referees. Submitted contributions have to be original and must not have been published or submitted elsewhere. We only publish contributions as part of thematic issues. Suggestions to themes, guest-editors and journal collaborations are very welcome. 

Submission guidelines for audio papers


12-15 minutes


150-200 words are required for all audio papers submitted.


A written bibliography has to be attached following Harvard standard (in-text).


Up to 100 words for all authors are required. Portraits are welcome, but optional (please include photo credit).

Format of the audio paper

The audio paper is a 12-15 minute-long audio production presenting a research question or focus. The audio paper combines speech and narratives with “sonic argumentation” which can be composed through sound recordings, sound productions or any other sound practices, voice practices, the audible use of one’s body, everyday tools, gadgets, musical instruments, computer software or all kinds of objects and agents. All audio papers are being peer reviewed by reviewers within the given field. The reviewers are asked to assess after these guidelines: A clear and contextualized research question / focus of exploration; a clear and vivid argumentation and exploration of the research question / focus; meaningful and original use of sound as medium and content to support, present and anesthetize the argumentation; coherence between dramaturgical composition (tempo, density, narrative structure) and content; appropriate references in the accompanying text (abstract and bibliography) and/or in the audio production. Please visit for further thoughts on and examples of audio papers.

Submission guidelines for articles


6000-8000 words


150-200 words are required for all audio papers submitted.


A written bibliography has to be attached following Harvard standard (in-text)


Up to 100 words for all authors are required. Portraits are welcome, but optional (please include photo credit).


Only contributions in English are accepted.


Embedded videos, photos, sound files and links to online platforms are welcome. Copyrights need to be cleared by the authors. 

Format of article

We are inviting written articles of a performative character. But, as with the audio paper, this does not mean that anything goes. Seismograf is an independent journal concerning aesthetics and art forms within the fields of sound, sound art and contemporary music. The readers of this journal are therefore not academics only, but cover a variety of people – dedicated listeners, artists, critics, curators etc. We are open towards written submissions that stretch the format beyond traditional academic publishing – but that are still being peer reviewed. The review guidelines concern: Strength, originality and clarity of the overall argument in the article; originality of and insight into the empirical material; strength and originality in presentation, argumentation and discussion; relevance of the literature references referred to.


Please submit your proposal to

Sanne Krogh Groth, Associate professor in Musicology, Lund University, Sweden (manager of editorial group)

Marie Koldkjær Højlund, Associate professor of Sound Studies, Aarhus University, Denmark

Meri Kytö, University Teacher in Musicology and reader in Sound Studies, University of Turku, Finland

Andreo Mielczarek, Editor-in-Chief of Seismograf

Morten Riis, Teaching Associate Professor in Digital Design and Information Studies, Aarhus University, Denmark

Ulrik Schmidt, Associate professor in Performance Design, Roskilde University, Denmark

Holger Schulze, Professor in Musicology, University of Copenhagen, Denmark

Stefan Östersjö, Professor of Musical Performance, Luleå University of Technology, Sweden

Please contact for further information. 

Anette Vandsø, 
AROS, Museum of Contemporary Art

Ansa Lønstrup
Aarhus University

Damien Harron
Leeds College of Music 

Henrik Frisk
Royal College of Music, Stockholm

Jacob Kreutzfeldt
Struer Tracks 

Jens Hjortkjær
Technical University of Denmark

Juilana Hodkinson, 
The Academy of Music

Kersten Glandien
University of Brighton

Leigh Landy 
De Montfort University

Mads Walther-Hansen
Aalborg University

Marianne Ping-Huang
Aarhus University

Michael Fjeldsøe
University of Copenhagen

Morten Breinbjerg
Aarhus University

Nicolas Collins
School of the Art Institute of Chicago

Ola Stockfelt
University of Gothenberg

Robert Willim
Lund University

Robin McGinley
Stockholm University

Simon Waters
Queen's University Belfast

Stefan Östersjö
Luleå University of Technology

Søren Møller Sørensen
University of Copenhagen

Tania Ørum 
University of Copenhagen

Thor Magnusson
Univeristy of Sussex

Åsa Stjerna
University of Gothenberg

Future calls

Call opens August 2024 / Deadline December 2024
For more information please contact Stefan Östersjö (


Previous calls

GENERIC SOUNDS. On the typical, indistinct and impersonal in the sonic arts, media and auditory culture
Deadline for abstracts: December 1 2023
Deadline for articles and audio papers: April 1 2023
For more information please contact Ulrik Schmidt ( / Morten Riis (

WHAT SOUNDS DO. New directions in an anthropology of sound
Call for audio papers and research papers
Deadline 10 February 2023
For more information please contact Holger Schulze (

GRIEF. Sonic expressions of loss, pain and sadness
Call for audio papers
Deadline 15 October 2022
For more information please contact Meri Kytö ( / Sanne Krogh Groth (

Submit to



Peer logocloud